Civil War Round Table of Kansas City

Former president Harry S. Truman provided the leadership for the founding of the Civil War Round Table of Kansas City. The Round Table held its first dinner meeting on February 25, 1958 at the Bellerive Hotel in Kansas City MO. Dr. Bert Maybee, a World War I comrade of Mr. Truman, was elected the first president of the Round Table.

The Round Table decided to hold its meetings on the fourth Tuesday of each month and this is still in effect today. At the monthly meetings, we have a dinner followed by a speaker, who is a well-known authority on the various leaders, battles, or events of the Civil War. We have met continuously since 1958 in a variety of locations. We meet year-round. The Civil War Round Table of Kansas City promotes the study and interpretation of our Civil War heritage and is dedicated to the preservation of historic Civil War sites.

In 1975, the members of the Round Table established the Monnett Battle of Westport Fund, which is a tax-exempt action component of the Round Table. The Fund's goal is to preserve, mark, and interpret the sites associated with the Battle of Westport, which occurred in and around the Kansas City metro area.

Round Table members have been very active in local preservation projects, including the Battle of Westport and the Big Blue Battlefield sites in Missouri and the Battle of Mine Creek in Kansas. The markers and the cannon at Loose Park in Kansas City and the preservation of the land along the Blue River are also evidence of our members' hard work.

The first record located of a woman being in attendance at a Round Table meeting was Alberta Wilson in May 1978. In April 1981, Carolyn Pate of Lee's Summit MO, became the first woman to be accepted to membership in the Round Table. Sandy Ackerson was elected as the first woman president of the Round Table in 1994.

Beginning in 1959, the Executive Committee of the Civil War Round Table of Kansas City implemented three service awards for the members of the Round Table and others interested in the Civil War. These awards are not given annually, but when circumstances warrant. The three service awards are as follows:

The Harry S. Truman Award, established in 1959. This award is given to someone outside the roundtable whose contributions on a broad scale have added to the understanding and appreciation of Civil War history and its effect on our country. Noted Civil War historian Bruce Catton was the first recipient of this award.

The Valiant Service Award, established in 1983. This award goes to a Round Table member who has served as an officer in the Round Table and who has provided leadership and support to the goals of the group over a number of years.

Steve Treaster Civil War Preservation Award, established in 2001. This award is given to someone in the community who has demonstrated over time a dedication to the preservation of Civil War sites, relics, weapons, books or other related artifacts.